

# **Minutes - General Assembly of GESS Who!**

December 12, 2019

Present Board Members:	Thimo Sonder, Samantha Gamez, Steven Sommer, Carl v Uslar, Raffael Bulgheroni, Stergiani Nikou
<b>Absent Board Members:</b>	Mareks Moro
Present Members:	MACIS: Boucher Joseph, Bruker Janek, Burgos Ana Maria, Demirci Buket Buse, Esshaki Alisha, Gamez Samantha, Grünholz Mirjam, Issa Jamila, Martikainen Onerva, Murias Munoz Maria, Nikou Stergiani, Troncone Massimo, Valli Roberto, Vogel Franziska, Weissberg Yaron. MAGPW:
	ISTP:
	BA Staatswissenschaften: Angst Roman, Bulgheroni
	Raffael, Kaabi Sammy, Sommer Steven, Sonder Thimo,, van
	Melik Jason, von Uslar Carl.
	GS: Notari Leda
	MSC: Walder Colin, Wüthrich Felix
	Total of voters: 24
Guests	There are no guests present
Minutes:	Steven Sommer

#### Agenda:

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Verification of the existence of a quorum
- 3. Appointment of vote counters
- 4. Approval of the agenda
- 5. Approval of the minutes of the last general assembly
- 6. Retrospect
- 7. Finances
- 8. Change of the statutes
  - a. GA in spring
  - b. Honorary membership for alumni
- 9. Relieving the board
- 10. Election of the GESS Who! Board for 2020
  - a. President
  - b. Vice-President
  - c. Treasurer
  - d. Board
- 11. Election of the auditors
- 12. Election of student representatives in the Teaching Commissions (UK)
- 13. Election of the student representatives in the Department Conference (DK)
- 14. Election of new representatives at the Mitgliederrat (MR)
- 15. Varia

### 1. Welcoming

Carl and Thimo welcome the GA and giva a quick tour of the agenda.

### 2. Verification of the existence of a quorum (min 2/3 of the board present) (28 people are required to be able to vote on statute changes.) The basic quorum has been reached (24).

The quorum to vote on the statute changes has not been reached (24 instead of 28).

# 3. Appointment of vote counter(s)

Roberto Valli and Mirjam Grünholz are elected unanimously as vote counters.

### 4. Approval of the agenda

The agenda is approved unanimously.

### 5. Approval of minutes of the last General Assembly

The minutes of the last GA are accepted unanimously.

#### 6. Retrospect

Thimo Sonder presents the activities of the board for 2019. Highlights were the Wine and whine event and the changes to the GESSWho! Room in IFW, including the new coffee machine.

### 7. Finances

## a) Preview: Financial Statement 2019

Raffael explains the finances of 2019 and explains the single positions in detail. There's a surplus of approximately 4000 CHF for the year of 2019.

#### b) Presentation of the budget 2020

Raffael presents the different positions of the 2020 budget. Samantha explains the position of the cost for the website.

The position of internal events has been raised to give a possibility for bigger events. Varia has been doubled to reflect spendings in this area from 2019. 1200 CHF are spent each year on empty bottles which are not brought back to the GESSWho! room.

# c) Vote on the budget 2020

The budget is accepted unanimously.

# 8. Revision of the statutes (2/3 majority required)

Theres not enough people present to change the statutes, so these points are being skipped.

- First revision (Art 5c) (Honorary membership for previous board members)
- Second revision (Art 15) (Move the date of the GA to spring instead of winter)

# 9. Discharge of the board

The board is discharged unanimously.

#### 10. Election of the GESSWho! Board of 2019

President:

Samantha Gamez runs for president. She briefly presents herself and her motivation to become president and her plans for the association. Samantha is elected unanimously

Vice-president:

Jamila Issa presents herself as VP. She briefly presents herself, her motiovation and her plans for the future of the association. Jamila is elected unanimously

#### Buket Buse Demirci leaves, a total of 23 voters are still present.

Treasurer: Raffael Bulgheroni runs for treasurer. Raffael is elected unanimously.

Board:

Thimo Sonder, Ana Maria Burgos, Janek Bruker, Onerva Martikainen, Felix Wüthrich and Maria Murias Munozpresent themselves for positions on the board. The board is unanimously elected.

### Ana and Raffael leave to prepare the Apéro, 21 voters are still present.

#### **11. Election of auditors**

Roman and Roberto quickly explain the function of the audistors. Roberto Valli will not run again.

Roman Angst and Sammy Kaabi run for the positions of auditors and are both elected unanimously.

# 12. Election of student representatives in the teaching commissions (1 per cohort per field of study)

Carl von Uslar explains the UK. Roberto Valli gives a quick overview on the tasks of this position.

Election of MACIS representatives (only members from MACIS take part in vote): Colin Walder is running and elected unanimously for MACIS 1<sup>st</sup> year cohort. Mirjam Grünholz is running and elected unanimously for MACIS 2<sup>nd</sup> year cohort.

#### **13. Election of student representatives in the Department Conference (Total of 5)** Alisha Esshaki explains the tasks, rewards and importance of the DK members.

Alisha Esshaki, Mirjam Grünholz, Joseph Boucher , Yaron Weissberg and Onerva Martikainen, run and are elected unanimously.

# **14. Election of new representatives at the member Conference (MR, min 2 people)** Steven Sommer and Alisha Esshaki give a quick insight

Jamila Issa and Janek Bruker run for the MR positions and are elected unanimously.

### 15. Varia

No varia